San Francisco’s Clam Chowder Soup in a Sourdough Bowl

DSC_7263

This tongue-twister recipe is unique to the city of Golden Gate. While visiting the Fisherman’s Wharf area in San Francisco, I was bemused to see the live sea food being served to order by the food connoisseurs. I too stopped with my camera and clicked few pics before being drawn to one unique local recipe named above. It is presented as full round and well puffed bread scooped from inside and filled with the delicious soup. The hot soup is a thick mix of fresh vegetables and very fresh seafood and tastes best when it’s a foggy cold weather at the San Franciaco bay. The taste of the sour dough bread bowl with the hot thick soup is unlike any other delicacy, I had never eaten in any part of the world. The thick soup gradually moistens the bread from inside and you can eat it with your spoon.

DSC_7033

Live Crab

DSC_7051

I tried it twice. Once at a street shop and afterwards at the iconic and most popular Boudin restaurant. In fact French baker Isidore Boudin who migrated to USA in 1849 is credited with the creation of sourdough bowl. It was a really a treat, I can still roll my tongue inside my mouth and feel the taste of the sour bread and soup served at Boudin. If you are really hungry you can finish the whole bread bowl. I polished off the full serve with some chilled beer and had to gulp a lot of water subsequently to make it easy for bread to be dissolved inside me.

IMG_0406.JPG soup

Boudin’s Clam Chowder Soup in a Sour Dough Bowl

I think it’s a must try for everyone, if you don’t want to make the mistake of missing this unique gastronomical delicacy of San Francisco.

2 thoughts on “San Francisco’s Clam Chowder Soup in a Sourdough Bowl

Leave a Reply

